top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemilyw0313

Bauhaus Dessau


Before I introduce the Bauhaus, I think it is very important to mention my deep connection to the Bauhaus specifically. I have always wanted to study Architecture, all the way back into my youth I knew it was something I was interested in. As my passion to the study of Architecture grew, I was constantly increasing my knowledge of different buildings, styles, and architects. I was very fortunate to be able to do a lot of traveling in Europe growing up, opening up my eyes to the architecture of the world. Through all of this and my studies, I was eventually introduced to the Bauhaus, a long anticipated moment. Initially, I really didn't know what it was about the Bauhaus that I was so drawn to, all I knew was that it made sense to me. Later, I realized I idealized the Bauhaus's style of Modern architecture, its simplicity, color scheme, facade, narrative, and attention to line direction. All in all, I couldn't really pinpoint a reason for my interest, it just was.


Finding out about the group being able to visit the Bauhaus, I was absolutely thrilled (I didn't sleep on the train ride over either). Arriving at the Bauhaus, I was completely surprised by its entirety and it went above and beyond my expectations. I admit reading and pictures of the Bauhaus truly don't do it justice, it's something that one has to see and experience in person to fully understand. Personally, standing in front of the Bauhaus, I had to pinch myself as though it wasn't there, as though I wasn't in its presence. While I believe the best way to experience this masterpiece of Modern architecture, its history and significance to Berlin, Germany stands to be explained and investigated.


The Bauhaus Dessau, originally in Weimar, is a building complex in Dessau, Germany. It was designed and built from 1925 to 1926 according to Walter Gropius. The building was designed as a school building for Bauhaus art, design, and architecture. The building itself is labeled and understood with the reputation of being an icon of modernity, as a portrayal of Modern archtitecture. Its directors Walter Gropius, Hannes Meyer, and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe shaped the Bauhaus in Dessau, expanding to the surrounding buildings in Dessau as icons of the 20th century architecture.


From its history, the Bauhaus, described by Gropius, was entirely apolitical, believing there to be no distinction between form and function. This led to frictions and factions within and without the school, as well as in its influences in art, architecture, graphic design, interior design, industrial design, and typography. The school faced pressure from the Nazi regime, as it was labeled as a center for communist intellectualism. The Bauhaus in Weimar also faced economic hardships as the Nazis took over their economic support in Thuringia. Eventually, the Bauhaus in Weimar had to be relocated to Dessau.


In terms of its program, the new school is notable in several respects. First it was a program and curriculum calling for a return to the crafts, and was therefore a rejection of the technology that had enthused Gropius in the prewar years. Second it was not a program calling for training in painting or architecture. Third is was initially at least a politically driven program. The Bauhaus also uses specific styles and forms as a means to translate its ideology and politics. The Bauhaus is seen as having a “political passion,” and its art does not turn away from history.


The Bauhaus was initially shut down during World War II due to political, economic, and social differences and ideologies. Post World War II, in 1976, the building was restored and modernized, and eventually became a museum for the public eye to admire its history, architecture, and style. A true inspiration to architecture and architects in a modern world.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page